Campaign Leadership

It began with a dream.

Our visionary founders looked out across the empty rolling hills of the Irvine Ranch and saw a great public research university, teaching California’s most promising students, driving economic growth and technical innovation, inspiring and leading the development of one of the most vibrant and thriving regions in the nation.

Today, UCI has done all that, and more. But it’s not finished. The same bold spirit that animated our founders inspires us today, and on the following pages you will read how we will expand opportunity, advance health and wellness, increase our knowledge and insight, and make a better world. 

There is no greater force for the advancement of human progress and enlightenment than the modern research university. We have a profound and positive impact when we educate undergraduates, prepare the next generation of scholars and professionals, explore the frontiers of science, address pressing social challenges, engage fundamental questions of morality and human value, devise new clinical practices, unleash new forms of creative expression, and build partnerships with our communities. 

Working together, we can be an unstoppable force to improve and enrich people’s lives.

I invite you to explore our vision and consider partnering with us so that, together, we can forge a brilliant future – for our region, for our nation, for our world.

Fiat Lux!  Let There Be Light!

Howard Gillman




Sheila and James Peterson

Honorary Chairs, UCI Health

Susan and Henry Samueli

Campaign Executive Committee

  • Michael Arias '11
  • Carol Choi '85
  • Eugene Choi ’86, EMBA '01
  • Julie Hill
  • Dr. Jaime Landman
  • Mohannad S. Malas
  • Stacey Nicholas
  • Thomas H. Nielsen
  • Professor Emeritus Spencer C. Olin
  • Kathleen R. Santora
  • Mark K. Santora
  • Gary J. Singer '74
  • Jason Valdry ’98, MBA '08
  • Dean A. Yoost

Honorary Committee

  • Masood A. '05
  • Professor Emeritus Donald Blake, M.S. '80, Ph.D. '84
  • Andrew B. Chou '00
  • Vice Chancellor Emeritus Manuel N. Gómez, MA '78
  • Professor Valerie Jenness
  • Nithin Jilla '13
  • Patty Le-Narula '92 ​
  • Professor Julia Reinhard Lupton
  • Ethan G. Matkin
  • Neda Moayedi '11
  • Jesse C. Moore Jr. '80
  • Patricia Morales
  • Rabi Narula '92
  • Tony Ortiz '98
  • Michael Schulman
  • Sherry Schulman '79, MBA '88
  • Professor James A. Steintrager
  • Jack Toan ’95, MBA '02
  • Phil Wang
  • Ivan L. Williams, MBA '96
  • Shane K. M. Wood, Ph.D. '21
  • Randy W. Yan '21
  • Miranda Young '11
  • Catherine Qingli Zhou, MBA '04